top of page


TGR Meeting Information

Regular TGR Board Meeting & Public Hearing

Date: Thursday, June 15, 2023

Location: Helotes City Hall Council Chambers, 12951 Bandera Rd., Helotes, TX 78023

Trinity Glen Rose District Precinct Map
Use the map to determine which precinct you live in

Dr. Stuart Birnbaum

Precinct 1

Joe duMenil

Precinct 2

Harris Dickey

Precinct 3

Joe Silman

Precinct 4

Katrina Castillo

Precinct 5

Use the map to locate your District when using Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, and Microsoft Edge. 

For Safari users, click here to determine the District in which you reside.
Trinity Glen Rose District Board Members
Stuart Birnbaum.jpeg
Joe duMenil.jpeg

Dr. Stuart Birnbaum

Precinct 1

Vice Chair

Joe duMenil

Precinct 2

Board Chairman


Harris Dickey

Precinct 3

Asst. Secretary-Treasurer

Joe Silman.jpg

Joe Silman

Precinct 4

Board Treasurer


Katrina Waring Castillo

Precinct 5

Dr. Stuart Birnbaum - Precinct 1 (Vice President) - Term expires 05/2022

Dr. Stuart Birnbaum is elected representative and was appointed to the TGR Board in December 2020 and took his oath of office in January. He will be finishing out the three-year term of office formerly held by Abigail Bush. Birnbaum is an emeritus associate professor in the department of geological sciences at the University of Texas at San Antonio where he conducted research in sedimentology and microbial geochemistry. He earned his B.S. degree in geology from the State University of New York at Stony Brook and his Ph.D. in geology from Cambridge University in the UK. 

Since retiring Birnbaum has been actively engaged with Citizens’ Climate Lobby serving as a co-leader of the San Antonio chapter of CCL. He is also a Board member of the Scenic Loop – Helotes Creek Alliance, a local environmental organization, and is an En-ROADS ambassador with Climate Interactive.

Precinct 1 boundaries cover the area near the City of Helotes. See the map above.

Joe duMenil - Precinct 2 (Board Chairman) - Term expires 05/2022

Joe duMenil is the elected representative and currently serves as President of the Trinity Glen Rose Groundwater Conservation District (TGRGCD) board. He has served the District for 10 years and brings a wealth of engineering and construction experience to the board's leadership.


Following completion of undergraduate and graduate degrees at Texas A&M, duMenil spent 20 years as a combat engineer in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. His military service culminated as the Deputy District Engineer in the Memphis District. In 2001, he was selected to head up San Antonio's Stormwater Utility, a $27 million operation which focused on maintaining existing infrastructure and orderly development. duMenil's most recent work has been with engineering consultant LNV.


Precinct 2 encompasses the largest geographic area in the TGRGCD area. The western boundary is Highway 16 in the Helotes area, Camp Bullis on the east, Loop 1604 on the south and the Bexar County line to the north. Small parts of Kendall and Comal Counties also reside within Precinct 2.


Fair Oaks Ranch and many other subdivisions dot the Precinct 2 region, and the environmentally protected Government Canyon Nature Park stands out as a focal point. The I-10 corridor from Loop 1604 to Boerne has dramatically developed in the last several years and that leads to some of duMenil's primary concerns about the District.


He says that everyone living and working over the Trinity Glen Rose Aquifer need to become more aware of the aquifer and practice sound water conservation and pollution prevention techniques each day. He stated the board is committed to increasing outreach to TGRGCD residents and business owners to help them understand the importance of preserving and protecting the aquifer.

Harris Dickey - Precinct 3 (Assistant Secretary-Treasurer) - Term expires 05/2022

Harris Dickey is a retired professional from the retail business sector and currently focuses his Precinct 3 attention on the large federal area located in the district along with two major parks. 


The largest development in Precinct 3 is Timberwood Park, where the lot sizes are larger than the typical home-sites. Camp Bullis and Camp Stanley cover most of the western portion of the district. Timberwood can be found on the east. The southern boundary runs up against the Stone Oak area and the Cibolo Creek forms most of the northern boundary. 


Eisenhauer Park is a highly used urban park in Precinct 3, and Panther Springs Creek Nature Area is a family friendly park residing in the district.


A unique aspect of Precinct 3 is that three creeks, Leon, Salado, Panther Springs, run through the area. These tributaries are often included in water quality discussions due to their potential recharge to the aquifers which underlie them.

Joe Silman - Precinct 4 (Treasurer) - Term expires 05/2022

Joe Silman is a retired partner with Andersen Consulting (now Accenture) and he focused his business consulting with water, electric and gas utilities. In addition to serving on the TGRGCD board, Silman also is President of the Stone Oak POA Board of Directors.


Precinct 4 is the most densely populated in the TGRGCD.  It includes the growing Stone Oak area with its 27 subdivisions, plus robust business and medical developments. Additionally, the Club at Sonterra and Martin Marietta Hwy 281 quarry are located within Precinct 4. The southern boundary of Precinct 4 is Loop 1604, Wilderness Oak on the north, NW Military Highway to the west and Highway 281 on the east.


Silman knows that with many homes and large water using businesses in the area, water conservation must be a high priority for all who receive their water from either San Antonio Water System Edwards Aquifer or Trinity Glen Rose wells. In the coming months, the TGRGCD will be enhancing its conservation messaging to encourage the focused stewardship of the area's water resources.

Katrina Waring Castillo - Precinct 5 - Term expires 05/2024

The Trinity Glen Rose District Board recently appointed Katrina Waring Castillo for the Precinct 5 board position recently vacated by Jerry Forster. Castillo has more than 25 years of experience in Information Technology leadership, data management, program management and application development.  She currently leads the Central Texas Data & Analytics practice for Slalom which is a world-renowned consulting company with 13,000 consultants.

The TGR Board are elected positions. Castillo will have to run for re-election as Forster’s current term expires in less than two years.

Precinct 5 is located on the eastern reach of the Trinity Glen Rose District. It is the second largest precinct in geographic size and has a highly faulted underground structure. 

The recently developed PGA Village Golf Course and Marriott Resort are two of the more recognizable destinations in D5. Those developments occurred under high scrutiny from the public and have proven to be good environmental neighbors to the area.


The Vulcan Quarry mines limestone in northern Bexar County and is subject to various environmental regulations due to its proximity to recharge features and aquifer water.

bottom of page